Big Bash League 2017 : Hobart Hurricanes Women face defeat against Adelaide Strikers Women

Hobart Hurricanes Women faced defeat against Adelaide Strikers Women in 2nd match of ongoing Women’s Big Bash League 2017. The BBL match was played on December 9 at Gliderol Stadium, which is situated in Adelaide. Batting first, Adelaide Strikers Women scored 183 runs in 20 overs. The opposite team failed to chase the target and ended up scoring 138 runs in 20 overs.

Hobart Hurricanes Women won the toss and elected to bowl first. Suzie Bates and Tammy Beaumont, pair of openers, gave a good start to the first inning of the match. The two cricketers cemented a good base of their team’s total score. Hitting 6 fours, Bates scored 31 runs in 24 balls and lost her wicket in 7th over of the 1st inning.

Tahlia McGrath replaced her as the player to bat next. McGrath scored 22 runs in 21 balls. Meanwhile, Tammy played exhibited admirable performance at the other of strike. The lady cricketer hit 4 fours and 1 six to score 43 runs in 29 balls. After Tammy lost her wicket in 13th over of the match, Sophie Devine came to bat next.

Devine donned aggressive stance to score the runs with speedy rate and contributed majorly in taking the overall team score beyond triple digit figure. Meanwhile, McGrath lost her wicket in 15th over and Bridget Patterson replaced her as the next player to accompany Devine in setting up huge score for the team.

Hitting 4 fours and 2 sixes, Devine scored 46 runs in 21 balls. Patterson hit 2 fours to score 22 runs in 18 balls. The two cricketers remained not out till the end of first inning and rendered crucial role in setting up big target for the opponents. Hobart Hurricanes team’s bowlers Brook Hepburn picked up two wickets while Celeste Raack took one wicket in today’s match.

Hobart Hurricanes Women commenced the run-chase with a stuttering start. After scoring 7 runs in 9 balls, opener player Lauren Winfield lost her wicket in 3rd over. Georgia Redmayne, who was batting at the other end of strike, scored 17 runs in 14 balls. After the pair of opening cricketers returned to pavilion with scoring decent runs in initial phase of the game, Hayley Matthews and Veda Krishnamurthy came to bat next.

The Indian cricketer could not score maximum runs individually and walked back to pavilion after scoring 6 runs in 12 balls. Team’s captain Corinne Hall stepped into the field to bat next after Veda’s dismissal in 9th over. The skipper didn’t manage to score big runs for the team and returned to pavilion after scoring 11 runs in 9 balls. Players in middle order of batting lineup failed to perform well in this match.

Matthews was showcasing better performance at the other end of strike. After scoring 35 runs in 27 balls, Matthews returned to pavilion. Veronica Pyke and Brooke Hepburn tried their best to score the runs required for victory, but failed to do so. Hitting 3 fours, Pyke scored 26 runs in 20 balls while Brook Hepburn managed to score 11 runs in 8 balls. The team ended up scoring 138 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 9 wickets.

Adelaide Strikers’ bowlers Tahlia McGrath, Megan Schutt and Sophie Devine picked up two wickets each while Amanda Wellington and Rhiannon Dick took one wicket each. Sophie Devine bagged ‘Player of the Match’ award for her versatile performance in this T20 cricket match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

BBL Fixtures © 2017 Frontier Theme