Big Bash League 2017 : Sydney Thunder Women face defeat against Sydney Sixers Women

Sydney Thunder Women defeated Sydney Sixers Women in 6th match of ongoing Women’s Big Bash League 2017. The BBL match was played on 10th December at North Sydney Oval stadium, which is located in Sydney. Batting first, Sydney Thunder Women scored 142 runs in 20 overs. Chasing the target successfully, Sydney Sixers Women scored 146 runs and registered victory in the match.

After winning the toss, Sydney Thunder Women opted to bowl first. The first inning started with opener player Rachel Priest and Rachael Haynes failing to score maximum runs for the team. Scoring 4 runs in 2 balls, Priest lost her wicket in first over of the inning. After Priest’s dismissal in initial over of the game, team’s captain Alex Blackwell replaced her as the next cricketer.

Partnership between Haynes and Blackwell didn’t last lone. After scoring 17 runs in 18 balls, Haynes lost her wicket in 9th over. Next player Stafanie Taylor could not make major contribution in taking the team’s total score to next level and returned pavilion after scoring 1 run in 3 balls. Indian cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur replaced her as the next woman cricketer.

Kaur and Blackwell’s partnership took the team’s overall score beyond triple digit figure. Hitting 1 six and 3 fours, Kaur scored 29 runs in 21 balls. Meanwhile, Blackwell completed half century. She scored 58 runs in 52 balls and lost her wicket in 16th over of the match. Naomi Stalenberg came to bat next after Blackwell’s dismissal. Partnership between Naomi and Kaur added satisfactory runs to the team’s total score.

Hitting 4 fours, Naomi scored 23 runs in 17 balls. After scoring 29 runs, Kaur walked back to pavilion in 17th over while Naomi lost her wicket in 20th over. The first inning ended with Sydney Thunder Women scoring 142 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 6 wickets. Sydney Sixers’ skipper Ellyse Perry picked up two wickets while Dane van Niekerk, Sarah Aley and Marizanne Kapp took one wicket each.

Sydney Sixers Women started the run-chase with a good partnership between the players in top order of batting lineup. Opener players Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry, who is team’s captain, played vital role in cementing strong base of team’s total score. Hitting 11 fours, Healy scored 49 runs in 27 balls. Perry scored 12 runs in 18 balls and lost her wicket in 7th over of the first inning.

Ashleigh Gardner replaced her as the next woman cricketer and accompanied Healy in the run-chase. Hitting 7 fours, Gardner scored 47 runs in 35 balls. Meanwhile, Healy lost her wicket in eleventh over of the match and Erin Burns replaced her as the lady cricketer to bat next. After scoring 10 runs in 8 balls, Burns lost her wicket in 14th over.

Sara McGlashan came to bat next after Burns’ dismissal in fourteenth over of the 2nd inning. Meanwhile, Gardner lost her wicket in 16th over and Dane van Niekerk replaced her as the next player. Partnership between McGlashan and Neikerk brought victory for the team. The two cricketers batted well in the final phase of the match and their team won the match by 6 wickets.

McGlashan scored 13 runs in 13 balls while Neikerk hit 11 runs in 11 balls. Sydney Thunder’s bowlers Stafanie Taylor, Nicola Carey and Maisy Gibson picked up one wicket each. Alyssa Healy bagged ‘Player of the Match’ award for showcasing impressive batting performance in the second inning of the match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

BBL Fixtures © 2017 Frontier Theme